About archiving pull requests
Archiving a pull request removes it from public view while preserving its history for people with triage access or higher to the repository. This provides a safer moderation path when they need to take a pull request out of public view without permanently deleting it.
Anyone with the triage, write, maintain, or admin role in a repository can archive, unarchive, and view archived pull requests.
When a pull request is archived:
- The pull request is only visible to people with triage access or higher to the repository. Visitors without this access receive a 404 error.
- The pull request is automatically closed and its conversation becomes read-only. New comments, reactions, and automated comments are blocked, including comments from repository administrators.
When you unarchive a pull request, it becomes visible again and people can comment and react again, but it remains closed. You can reopen it separately if needed.
Archiving a pull request
- On GitHub, navigate to the main page of the repository.
- Under your repository name, click Pull requests.
- Click the pull request you want to archive.
- Scroll to the bottom of the right sidebar. Then click Archive pull request.
- Read the information about archiving the pull request, then confirm that you want to archive it.
Unarchiving a pull request
You can find archived pull requests by using the is:archived qualifier. See Searching issues and pull requests.
- Open the pull request you want to unarchive.
- In the right sidebar, click Unarchive pull request.
- Read the information about unarchiving the pull request, then confirm that you want to unarchive it.